Hey Honey, Pass Me the Worms….I Mean the Cheese

Rotten Maggot Cheese

Rotten Maggot Cheese

Anyone ever heard of Casu Marzu cheese?  Yeah, me either.  Today is the first I’ve heard of it.  Looks like a traditional sheep milk cheese, hungry yet?  I haven’t even told you the best yet.  It’s been outlawed in most countries, but can be bought on the black market…..getting hungry?  Casu marzu goes beyond typical fermentation to a stage most would consider decomposition, brought about by the digestive action of the larvae of the cheese fly Piophila casei. These larvae are deliberately introduced to the cheese, promoting an advanced level of fermentation and breaking down of the cheese’s fat.

So next time you are hungry, throw that crap on a sandwich or shred it and put it on your pizza.  I’m sure birds would like this as they seem to like worms and larvae and such.  Hey, you eat this, more power to you.  Just stay outta my face.

Seriously…..who eats this crap?  I would gag like a horse, do horses even gag?…..no a giraffe.  I’m sure Giraffes gag, especially the meat eating ones.

Leave a Reply

